Jesus Sent Twelve

Four Biblical Lists
Matthew 10:2-4, Mark 3:16-19, Luke 6:14-16 & Acts 1:13.
Within the apostleship, there were 3 sets of brothers. 1-Peter & Andrew, were sons of Jonah, Mk. 1:16, Jn. 1:42. 2-James & John, were sons of Zebedee. 3-Matthew & Thaddaeus (Simon the Zealot) & James, were sons of Alphaeus. The only safe assumption we can make from this, is that Jesus wanted his leaders to emphasize a love for family within the church, 1Pt. 3:8, 5:3, 2Pt. 1:7, Php. 1:8. Bartholomew in (Matthew, Mark, Luke and Acts) is called Nathaniel in John’s gospel. “Iscariot” has a vague meaning, it could mean a district in southern Judea, or it could be his fathers name. If it is a reference to southern Judea, then the betrayer is different in that all the rest are from Galilee in the north. Judas Iscariot was replaced by Matthias, Acts 1:26. James the son of Zebedee was martyred and replaced by Saul named Paul, Acts 12:2, 13:1-3,9. Simon the Cananaean was known as Simon the Zealot. The twelve apostles correspond to the twelve tribes of the children of Israel. Matthew 19:28, Jesus said to them, “I tell you the truth, at the renewal of all things, when the Son of Man sits on his glorious throne, you who have followed me will also sit on twelve thrones, judging the twelve tribes of Israel. Revelation 21:14, The wall of the city had twelve foundations, and on them were the names of the twelve apostles of the Lamb. Ephesians 2:20, built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, with Christ Jesus himself as the chief cornerstone. This teaches us that they have eternal authority within the church.
Jesus prayed all night before making his apostolic appointments, Luke 6:12. We should follow Jesus’ example of using fervent prayer before we make decisions. Jesus gave them a model prayer and instructed them to be devoted to prayer, but they didn’t always place it as high a priority as God did, Mk. 14:37-40, however after the resurrection, prayer is always prioritised, Ac. 1:14, 2:42, Col. 4:2.
The number 12 is used in various ways to signify delegated divine power. The 12 parts of the Holy Spirit’s fruit describing the new creation He grows in each Christian. As well as the 12 fruits on the tree of life in Revelation 22:2. The leaves of this tree has power to heal pagans. The fruit of it gives life the saints thrive on. 1. Love. 2. Joy, 3. Peace, 4. Patience, 5. Goodness, Gal. 5:22-23, Eph. 5:9. 6. Faithfulness, 7. Kindness, 8. Gentleness, 9. Self-control, and 10. Holiness, Romans 6:22. 11. Righteousness, Ephesians 5:9, Hebrews 12:11, James 3:18, and 12. Truthfulness, Ephesians 5:9. No one can doubt that the apostles were all common Galilean sinners, but they also were great examples of spiritual maturity and power.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.